Anne Laukaitis Champion for Children Award

The Anne Laukaitis Champion for Children Award is in honor of Anne’s distinguished Smart Start leadership and her long career dedicated to the service of young children and families in Cabarrus County. The award is given annually to an exceptional individual at the local level who is devoted to public service and whose leadership qualities have resulted in significant change for the betterment of young children, families, and communities.

The Cabarrus Partnership for Children is pleased to present the 12th annual Anne Laukaitis Champion for Children Award to Karen Calhoun, Director of the Cabarrus County Department of Human Services.

Karen has opened up the Cabarrus County Department of Human Services (DHS) to more coordination, integration and collaboration with key stakeholders to help more families in our community. Her collaborative approach and leadership has allowed DHS to connect families to local programs and services, and enabling them to obtain the support they need to ensure the health and well-being of their children.

2021 - Karen Calhoun, Cabarrus Co. DHS


PAST Award Recipients

2020 - Dr. russell suda

 2019 - Paula Yost, Cabarrus Co. Child Protection Team

paula cropped

Ashlie Shanley presented the award to Paula Yost Schupp, calling her a trademark attorney who is devoted to the welfare of our children. Paula volunteers countless hours heading the Cabarrus County Child Protection Team and facilitates meetings and the sharing of resources between our local child protection agencies so that they can serve our children better. Paula is also a loving mom, a wife, an attorney, and the owner of the Country Law Shack in Mount Pleasant.

Paula's extraordinary passion for helping children in our community is the reason why she was named the Anne Laukaitis Champion for Children Award recipient for 2019.

2018 - Starla Hatley, ABCD/Reach Out and Read

starla hatley

Download the Nomination Form

award winners 2009-2020

2009 Debbie Biggerstaff
2010 Felicia Wilson
2011 Pam Smith
2012 Norman Franklin
2013 Andrea Palo
2014 Rev. Donald Anthony & Angela Ward
2015 Jackie Whitfield
2016 Ashlie Shanley
2017 Andrea King & Wilma Means
2018 Starla Hatley
2019 Paula Yost
2020 Dr. Russell Suda

© 2022 Cabarrus Partnership for Children. All Rights Reserved. Site by Perry Productions.